top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Renfree

Reopening Update


Dear Serra Families--

When I started this blog a few years ago it was in direct response to parents saying they felt communication was very poor before my appointment to the position. I made a commitment to post on every single week and never before has it been more important that I continue to do so. Please reach out to incoming parents and tell them to subscribe!


Even if there is nothing to report I promise you I will post every week from now on any new information or even just to let you know that there is none at this time. However we do have two things to talk about.


Survey

There is a survey coming to you this afternoon and I just sent this communication to your emails.

Dear Serra Families,

As you may have heard San Diego Unified School District has made a decision to reopen schools on August 31, 2020 as planned.  The options for families will be a full 5 days a week for those families who are comfortable with that OR online learning that will be upgraded from the type of distance learning that was experienced from March – June.  No specific details were laid out in the plan. 

District staff including principals will be planning for the details in the coming days, weeks and months.  The district will be sending out a survey as soon as today to gather your input on your preference for your child.  I have not been given the survey to know what is on it. It is my understanding your response is not a commitment, but rather a data collection of how many families should we anticipate in either full return or online learning.  The survey will be sent to your email you have in our registration and if you are receiving this email you should also receive the survey link.  I am sorry I do not have any more details at this time, but will keep families updated through these school messenger emails, phone calls and our Facebook Pages.  The district is revamping all school websites so information there may not be as accurate. 

Please submit your general idea of your preference so we may collect data district wide and know you will not be making a final selection at this time. 


Main Question I know Im going to get from you:

" How can I possibly know what to choose if I don't know all the details?"

Short answer: You are right. However this survey is from SDUSD and not me. They are just gathering a general/initial thinking. Thats it. When it comes time to actually choose I will make sure I give you every possible detail so you can make an informed decision.


This process is going to take possibly most of the summer. Please be patient. As soon as I know, you will know. I know we are on a time crunch but its a very complicated process much of which I have no control over. I have to get direction from the district.


Summer School:

SUMMER SCHOOL 2020

SDUSD and Edgenuity are teaming up to provide online summer school to all of our students. 

If you are interested in attending summer school or wish to get more information, please go to this link.https://www.sandiegounified.org/summer-school-0

District Chrome books are required to complete summer school online courses.  Chrome books can be requested directly from the district office.  https://sites.google.com/sandi.net/instructionalcontinuityit/technology-support-for-families It is under the distance learning link.


Summer School starts on Monday!


Thank you families,


Dr. Erica Renfree

433 views0 comments
bottom of page