top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Renfree

Special Edition--Schedules, Computers and More


Dear Serra Community--

What a amazing day! Our teachers are back today and attend Zoom with me and we couldn't be more excited.

I want to address quickly a few issues so we can keep communication flowing. I thank you so much for your positive messages and support for not only myself but my staff.


The information I am about to give you could change today and I will keep you updated.


Schedules-

We are finishing schedules. As soon as they are done, they will launch and I will let you know. Usually the schedule is worked on until about midnight the day before school starts. I'm receiving emails about why you don't have them yet and I understand because anxiety is high. The master schedule takes 6 months to build and we had three weeks to do it (thanks COVID).

We are attempting a miracle. Also I haven't even hired some teachers yet and am doing so by end of week. I want to make sure you don't get a schedule that has errors or needs to be changed. We want it to be as right as possible.


Computers--

We literally do not have them yet. Many of you are emailing stressed. Please try to relax. If you already have a computer you keep it and if you don't as soon as I get them I will start getting them to you.


QUESTION: What if I don't get one by Monday?


You don't need one by Monday. However, if I get them delivered today or tomorrow I'll push them out to you starting the next day. So if I get them today I'll get them to you tomorrow and if I get them Thursday I'll start getting them to you Friday.


QUESTION: What if you say you are handing out computers and I am unable to make it but I need one?

No problem, we will arrange a make up day next week at some point.


QUESTION: Is my child going to be marked absent if they don't log on?


This is a complicated question but let me go over a few things first that will help you all to understand what exactly next week is. I already sent you the evening schedule in the last blog and the information on that is on our website as well for reference.


Here is a day schedule for teachers but you need to pay attention to the GREEN.

All students will be asked to go to their period teachers opening ZOOM which will be found on the staff members profile in our staff directory on our website. This will only take place from 9:45 to 10:45 am.

So on Monday your child will go to the Serra website at 9:45 and find their period 1 teacher and click where it says their name, and their profile comes up and they click Opening Meeting Zoom.

Then they will meet their teacher and they will review some things with them. If you don't have a period 1 then there is nothing for you to do.

Then Tuesday period 2, Wednesday period 3; all from 9:45-10:45.


If your child hasn't for whatever reason been able to do that check in (you still don't have a computer etc) teachers will start calling you on Thursday and Friday.---you will have computers by then.


When you enter your period 1 teacher's class they will go over district produced curriculum. They are not teaching your child any content next week or reviewing their course. Your child will miss nothing in regards to Serra High content.


The district curriculum can be understood by watching this video below:


You child can participate at the leisure. However if you don't have a computer you wont be penalized.



Lastly, as for textbook they are always given out the second week of school. Many or most of you will not need one at all as all the textbooks have been put online minus a few. If you need to come and get one we l will et you know. Our teachers know about this and will not be requiring them until they know we have distributed them.



We are working hard for you.

We will make sure you are taken care of.

We will help you be successful.

It will all be fine.


Thanks,


Dr. Erica Renfree



1,635 views0 comments
bottom of page